The Laughing Otter- because life’s just too short

Bento, baby shower, and a wonderful Valentine

Posted on: February 16, 2009

Blue rice, asparagus, ground chicken 'nuggets', a bottle of teriyaki sauce, a bowl of cheesy pasta something mix, and three heart shaped chicken and potato croquettes.

Blue rice, asparagus, ground chicken 'nuggets', a bottle of teriyaki sauce, a bowl of cheesy pasta something mix, and three heart shaped chicken and potato croquettes.

So, today’s bento- I made it with leftover rice from the Valentine bento. The croquettes turned out so much better this time, since I made the mashed potatoes with a little butter but no cream. They held together like a dream! I froze the rest of them- tomorrow, crab rangoons!

Cheesy pasta stuff, and a bagel with roast beef (wrapped in tin foil).

Mom's Bento: Cheesy pasta stuff, and a bagel with roast beef (wrapped in tin foil).

I bought the box with little-boy boxers in it- I gave the boxers to my cousin, but I kept the box for my mom’s snack for after work. Cutest scooby-doo metal tin! The pin’s missing in the back though, so it’s not too secure.

100_0057It’s really cute, and the perfect size to hold half a sandwich and a little baggie of something else.

We went to a baby shower for my cousin and his wife, and had loads of fun! We got lots of pictures, but since most of my family prefers not to be posted online, I’ll just say that it was fun, my great-aunt was there and I got pics of her with Josh, and it was just incredible.

Meanwhile, we got our new camera, so the picture quality increased on my images, hooray! No more fuzzy cameraphone shots! Okay, probably at least a few more, but at least for now nice pictures!

They’re having a son as well, his name is Owen. So many boys! First there were twin boys, then another cousin had a boy, then I had a boy, and now they’re having a boy.

I keep telling Orion he needs to give me a girl. Just… not right now, although the girl-clothes are just adorable.

I had a wonderful Valentines! Orion set up a hint-hunt, where he gave me my first clue at the front door, and then each led me to the next. Along the way I found candies, a pink domo plushie, a Hello Kitty Pez set, and eventually tickets to see Coraline. It was a wonderful evening! My mom babysat, and we even got popcorn and soda and candy. It was just splendid.

Anyway, for now I’m mostly just waiting for the baby to settle down for bed- he’s adamant that this is playtime. Who am I to argue, since it is my playtime…

Soon we’ll crash, though.

Have a wonderful day!


Leave a Reply

